Team Sports Like Football

Who’s bright idea was it to play sport after 40?

So, I’m standing there with my 5 year old … awaiting under 6 team allocations and there heralds an announcement: Attention please, the over 35′s division 9 are short a few players please see the registration desk if interested.

Over 35 – tick. Division 9 – sounds reasonable. Me reigniting my soccer career and running around a soccer oval for 90 minutes – tick. Signed up, ready to go – tick.

Now if this were a mathematical equation then the excel spreadsheet would have reported an error – unknown variable.

(>35)+(-abilty)+(=90 mins)+(me)=ERROR

The first three factors are fine, no untruths – the competition is greater than 35 year olds, the lesser ability is emphasised by the ranking of division 9. A mens game of soccer is 2x 45 minute halves. All factual.

The erroneous calculation in this equation is the addition of me … I’ve trained one night and I’m still sore!

I have the right equipment, I almost look the part – ignoring the bulge in the middle … so in theory the equation works.

Theory vs Practice

Don’t you love lab experiments gone wrong!

The theory is sound, I am over 35, certainly of lesser ability, and in theory my body can move for 90 minutes.

Yet this is an important lesson for those yet to reach their 40′s: theory and practice don’t seem to = each other, there seems to be a < sign in there. Practice is < theory!

So here I am readying myself for the first trial game. Acknowledging that I have in fact signed optimistically for a season while I'm still trying to recover from our first light training.

The only hope left now is to pray … hope for mind over heavy matter and await the inevitable pains, aches and woes of tomorrow.

Yours in soccer, "Gummy" boots!

20120318-111043.jpg

One response to “Team Sports Like Football

  1. Update: Survived week 2! Feeling much fitter :) Only hobbling this week.

Leave a Reply

