Feeling a bit sheepish

Sometimes I feel like the urge to baa!

Is it only me or can others see that our lives are so often lived like we are part of a flock of sheep?

Shepherding SheepWe go through the daily motions and routines – work, chores, travel, even hobbies. We live in circles of friends that become our flock. Oh and if that gets muddled we become like chickens yelling the sky is falling!

I had to explain to my daughter about social norms, the acceptable bounds of society. As long as you remain within these boundaries, the “socially acceptable” then life can be plain sailing – analogous to feeding on pasture.

Pushing the Social Norms

I love the show Shaun the Sheep, a children’s cartoon. The sheep, at least one of them, bucks the system, changes the rules and doesn’t conform to the status quo. If you haven’t seen it do yourself a favour and check it out on YouTube: Shaun the Sheep – “off the baa“.

Pushing Social Norms

Life tends to be much more normal than Shaun’s! Though I find it remarkable that even those that do live outside the social norms tend to surround themselves in enclaves of like minded people. Hey nothing wrong with that – it’s only natural. But seems amusing that while trying to live on the edge you find the place to fit it

Who’s the shepherd?

Dan Perez posted a blog on Captain Smack and the Blogging Matrix. It captured the moulds we tend to fit into – the rules set by market leaders who shepherd our way through the blogging matrix.

But who is setting the rules? Who are the market leaders? Who’s the shepherd?

What type of blogger are you?

All these rules, societal expectations have got me thinking about the importance of blogging, its merits, the platforms we are taking and, in my humble opinion, I came up with three types of bloggers:

  • Those who shift the paradigm
  • Those who comment on the paradigm
  • Those that are promoting the paradigm

We’re all here for some sort of profit, whether to influence our social circles, to observe and share our views or for financial gain.

So which are you? Are you an influencer? Or being influenced? Are you shaping thoughts or being led? And if so, who is it that is leading you? Where are they leading?

The Final Word

T D Jakes always finishes his video casts with “The Final Word” – which seems apt, for part of what spawned all this thinking was who is leading me? What am I allowing to lead my life? My thoughts and actions?

There’s a passage in John 10:11-13 which addresses this. Through it you can truly assess whether what or who you are following is worth your attention.

4 responses to “Feeling a bit sheepish

  1. Thanks for this thoughtful post – it got me asking that important question: am I leading or being led? Sometimes, the lines between those two can get pretty blurry, and it usually comes down to a matter of courage. Mark Twain said “Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear…not absence of fear.”

    Thanks for reminding me of this today.
    Nader Ashway

  2. Great blog with much food for thought! I hope I’m an “influencer” who is inspiring our youth to DREAM BIG! and to follow their passions even when they’re contrary to the current societal norms. Actually, that’s what my new book is about: They Stood Alone!: 25 Men and Women Who Made a Difference. (Great minds must think alike!)

Leave a Reply

