Just a Game

Tonight I’m on my way for a weekly squash game playing in a local centre in an internal competition.

Having just heard who my opponent is I’m already turned off … I’m up against that guy who takes his sport far too seriously.

I’m sure we’ve all met them, or maybe are one ourselves, the person who plays in the local competition as if life depended on it.

I’m not against playing hard, certainly prefer to win than lose … but now past 40 my aspirations of making the national team for anything other than maybe coach driver have all but dissipated!

Especially when it comes to squash – those guys are superfit, and if truth be told … Well I’m not. 🙂

When Does Social Sport Go Too Far?

So when does social sport become unsocial? What do you do when your opponent is ready to take your head off if you’re winning?

I play simply to get a little exercise, to maintain this fine figure attained after years of dietary abuse. I also play for enjoyment, for some time away from the office. But tonight I’d have been as happy to stay back.

20111103-194402.jpgSo far I’ve only spoken about direct competitors, older folk like me still silly enough to play – worse is the spectators, the parents who didn’t quite make it and now are riding their kids – saw plenty of this coaching.

I assume this isn’t just a modern phenomena, that this equation has been going on for generations but fear that today’s society increasingly is more concerned with winning at all costs rather than enjoying some down time and playing for fun – after all it’s just a game, isn’t it?

One response to “Just a Game

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to search out anyone with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is something that’s needed on the web, somebody with a bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

Leave a Reply

