Mondayitis

“Tell me why I don’t like Mondays”

Monday-itisThe famous line by Bob Geldof about a young girl who shot up a school because she didn’t like Mondays.

So many people start their week with Mondayitis – that sense of routine, mundane. A boredom of living through another Monday.

I’m struck by the ridiculousness of this – Mondayitis … after all Monday’s make up 1/7th of our life.

I know most don’t seriously write off their Mondays – but many don’t approach it with a sense of joy, of anticipation.

The March of Time

Life passes so quickly, it constantly marches to a rhythm, the “second tempo”, 60 seconds that turn into minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, years and then … they’re gone.

An old saying “you can’t put an old head on young shoulders” rings so true. Your childhood isn’t treasured till its passed. Your youth and its inherent beauty and potential are often unappreciated. Even your 20’s are all too often squandered, 30’s most likely frantic with kids – then your 40 and realising how valuable life is.

A Chasing of the Wind

“Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.” The opening lines of Ecclesiastes, a book written by the wisest man to ever live, Solomon.

The book goes on to say life is like chasing the wind – that we are but vapours that inhabit the Earth for but a few short decades, some might make a century? Yet before we recognise the value of life its gone, time will have passed, age will set in and life’s rhythmic march will be soon to end.

Leaping into Monday’s

I know most don’t actually want to miss Monday’s … that it’s a social idiom but I’d like to challenge people to embrace Monday’s – and Tuesdays, Wednesdays … mornings and evenings. Life is too short to be stuck in mundane, routine or worse, unhappiness, depression, addiction, sadness, loneliness – take action, make a decision that time is to be treasured and jump into life to live it to its fullest.

9 responses to “Mondayitis

  1. So true, I am thankful for each day. My only complaint? Time goes way too fast!

    • Don’t I know it! Time does seem to speed up but I guess it’s ratio 🙂 One year to me now is come and gone before I know it but one year to my children seems forever.

  2. A bit over a year ago I made the decision to become self-employed (truly, it was my decision, not my employer’s!), and the rhythm that creates Monday-itis went away. In some ways, I’d like it back. I’ve traded it for days without demarcation: working on weekends, doing chores midweek–whatever needs doing whenever. I think many often forget that Mondays got that reputation because of the time we can spend with ourselves and our families on weekends.

  3. Excellent post. I totally agree with your point of view and I teach the same thing on my blog all the time. Appreciation of life is the main ingredient of being happy. It’s so popular to complain that people don’t realize what they are missing by doing so. Thanks for sharing this. Great perspective.

  4. Great blog and, actually, I love Mondays! It’s the beginning of a whole new week of “opportunities.” I’m a “list” person and I love making my Monday morning list of all my goals for the week. Love your blog and I’ll be back!

    • Hi Sandra, thanks so much! I’m a list person too 🙂 Great tool for getting things done. Love the attitude – a whole new week of “opportunities.”

  5. Hi I’ve just been searching blogss to see what people are saying about Mondays. I find balance so difficult – if my life is going great then Mondays are hard because they mean back to reality, routine and the day job. I have a 10 things Mondays segment on my blog and this week I’ve posted about ways to make Monday a great day. Thought you might like to help my list along. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

